Self Care: Taking Care of God’s Temple

As I work through some recovery issues around my weight loss, I’m forced to think about how I take care of my body or, really, how I don’t take care of it.  For the last week I’ve been doing a “cleanse” and I’m walking through it like a “fast” (which I’ve never done). It’s been amazing to see what God is doing in my life, and I’ll share more on that later.

As a new member in Celebrate Recovery I’ve connected with so many fellow believers who are working such an awesome program.  I’ve even found a sponsor and she’s challenged me to put the “fears” and “what if” away as I walk this journey…it’s scary…it’s vulnerable…but it feels so right.

My sponsor recommended I watch a few videos from Gateway Church. I’d never heard of this church, but I’ve been impressed with what I’ve learned so far.  She recommended that I listen to the sermon entitled,  Taking Care of the Temple.  WOW!  It was POWERFUL for me!!!  NOTE: There is also a “worksheet” to go along with this one– you’ll find it here:  Taking Care of the Temple (discussion guide).

This video helped me so much and I’d recommend it for anyone who has ever struggled with self-perception, for anyone who has ever looked at a body part and felt any sort of ‘dislike’, or for anyone who is going through any medical situation. Powerful stuff!

I’ve often had issues with ‘loving’ my body and realizing that I am “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalms 139:14) in Christ’s likeness. I know that in my head, but in my heart, it’s hard to ‘believe and own.  Through Christ, I’m being healed.

I discovered many of my “hangups” are from the hurts during childhood (living with an alcoholic father, living with foster families and in group homes).  Through this video I also learned  that if there is an area where I struggle and I have a way of thinking that is contrary to God’s way of thinking, I’ve left an open door for the enemy. The big lesson for me  is that my lack of self-confidence and lack of self-care is an open door for the enemy where he is able to create a stronghold in me. WOW!  I’m realizing that I’ve personally opened this door of weight struggles and allowed Satan to use them to keep me stuck in ‘victim land’.

This was powerfully moving for me and I am excited share it. I’m excited about this new way of thinking and I know it will help me grow stronger in my recovery and in trusting Christ for HIS power, strength and will!

If you want to, watch the video.  Then, will you please share your thoughts?  I’d love to hear about your experience, strength and hope.

Leave a Reply

