It’s never too late.

My mind is often reeling about the future.  What am I doing with my life?  Am I living out God’s will?  Am I serving my purpose?  In my mid 40’s we adopted a baby boy and we’re loving every minute of parenthood…ok, not really every minute…but most of it (that’s me being the optimist).  By now, I thought I’d be a successful business woman, or a principal of a school, or an influential leader in my field.  God has given me the gift of motherhood and I am blessed to have this opportunity.   I was a high school teacher for 15 years and have been blessed with an amazing part-time work from home position, but I can’t help but wonder what God has in store for me professionally.

I was inspired this week by Martha Stewart.  I never thought I’d say that about her,   since my decorating desire is way out there.  Nevertheless, she’s a brilliant success.  I learned this week that she wrote her first book in her mid 40’s and opened her first business in her 50’s!  She’s 71 now and doing VERY well for herself.  If she can do it, I know I can, too.

I look forward to where life will take me.  I will make sure that I keep thinking positively, staying focused and motivated.  I will embrace my ever-planning mindset and allow it to take me wherever God wants me to go.  I keep praying for clear direction and the resources to make it happen.

I’m off to brainstorm, pray and plan for the next 50 years of my life. I welcome change.  I embrace the future.  I’m looking forward to the great adventures!

In the meantime, please tell me, I’d love to know…Do you find that you plan and think a lot of the future?  Do you find yourself restless?  What ways do you work to find peace about where you are in life or where you want to be?

Please share your experiences with me so we can grow and go together.

Until next time … Philippians 4:13!

3 thoughts on “It’s never too late.

  1. I got tears in my eyes while reading this…. Mostly because I can relate so much to it. Lately I have been really, really thinking about my life and what I want from it… Can you really have it all? This past week I have really felt defeated… Broken down. I try to live my life in the most honorable and honest way… I always put my best out there. I set goals and work hard to achieve them… But there are some things you can’t control. And it’s frustrating…. Especially when i feel like things are happening for all those around me but not me. The past 6 months or so my big question has been about having kids. I’m 35, 36 in August… time is ticking!! I have always wanted an army of kids… As many as God would give me. But as time passes it seems less and less likely. What if it doesn’t happen for me? Similar to you I just thought I’d be in a different place at 35… Even though I have achieved so much and have so many things to be thankful for in my life.

    The only thing that I can hold onto is faith. Sometimes that seems like an impossible feat. But I figure if you live your life with the best intentions you can’t give more than that… And what is meant to be will be. Maybe you’ll get everything you want… Maybe you won’t. Maybe my wish for kids will come true…. Maybe it won’t. But maybe God has bigger plans for me. Maybe my purpose is bigger than I know…. So I hold on to faith. Sometimes by a thread 🙂 But I hold on.

    • Thanks, Kate, for sharing your struggle, You’re right…faith is the best avenue. He has a divine plan and will make the best of all situations (Romans 8:28 – “And we know that IN ALL THings God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.) Keep hanging tight!

Leave a Reply

